Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{July 2, 2012}   Counting the sleeps to CYA …

Hi all,

This Saturday marks the annual CYA Conference here in Brisbane. This conference is a wonderful opportunity for Children & Young Adult writers across Australia to network and participate in workshops with YA and children’s writers. If you haven’t yet booked your place and you think this might be your thing, please visit http://www.cyaconference.com. Time is definitely running out to be a part of this incredibly worthwhile conference. 

In addition to this conference, and a personal note of achievement for me, is that my work has been shortlisted in one of the CYA competition categories. On Saturday, I will find out where I place, after my work has been judged by an editor from a publishing house. I am so, so, so excited!!! To even be shortlisted is an honour and an amazing achievement within itself. I doubt I’ll get any sleep on Friday night as I’m sure nerves will consume me ..

Apologies in advance that I’m being vague about the details of this competition but I’m sure you can appreciate that as this is an anonymous competition, where the work is judged solely on its merits, I can’t discuss which category I’m in or which work has been shortlisted. But check back here on the weekend – after the conference – when I can tell you all the details. I have my fingers crossed and a thousand wishes out there for a positive result. Wish me luck. x

Good luck, Debbie. I so hope you have a win, but you know you’re already a winner.



Awwww, thanks Leigh! You guys are too kind to me. I’ve put Anti-Social on my wishlist at Amazon. Am going to put in a big order from there very soon. Can’t wait to read it, it sounds awesome! x



Leave a Reply

et cetera
