Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{June 18, 2011}   The Fun of Flash Fiction …

I’ve recently discovered the fun of writing flash fiction and I’m loving it! Plotting out novels, keeping track of characters and their eccentricities, and deliberating story directions is just too much for me at this crazy time of year. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still passionate about novel writing but truthfully, I just don’t have the time for it right now.

And with flash, I can write a short and quirky story in an hour, or so, and there’s no pressure because I’m not doing anything with them – yet. I’m just writing for the sheer joy of it and the challenge.

This is why I’m such a strong advocate for writer’s groups, they keep you motivated! Every meeting, we’re given a topic (sometimes its generic for the group, other times it’s chosen for us) and we have to write a flash piece based on that. Of course; we’re allowed to choose the viewpoint, the genre, and develop the character however we like but it’s always a challenge – to create something from nothing. But I love it and relish each and every flash piece I get to write. Even if all my writing, including the serious stuff, turns out to be funny – especially when I don’t mean it to. It’s so therapeutic to just ‘dump’ all my feelings and emotions onto paper and not have to spend hours rearranging the plot to fit them all in somehow.

And the weirdest part about this whole flash experiment? I’ve never been a short story person, so this is all new and exciting for me. Now, if I could just find some flash competitions that fit my stories, I’ll be set! 🙂

Happy writing everyone! I’m off to think up some topics for a new flash piece. 🙂

For someone who is not a short story person Debbie, you sure have the knack!



Thanks Andrew, I still think they’re more ‘personal reflections’ than short stories but I’m happy you like them. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
