Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{April 3, 2011}   One very productive and amazing day …

So I went to Supernova yesterday and I can sum it up in one word – awesome!

There’s really no other word for it. Well, maybe there are a few; crazy, busy, freakish, fabulous. I could go on and on but I’ll try to keep it short.

What is Supernova? Well, it’s a pop culture expo and it’s fabulous, need I say more. It has celebrities such as Tom Felton, better known as Draco Malfoy, and Charisma Carpenter aka Cordelia Chase in Buffy & Angel amongst others. Anime, Manga & Comic artists, authors, vendors, cosplay, even a Delorian – everything a geek loves. 

It was wonderful to see my good friends Kev & Ant there promoting their Dream Raider franchise, plus I had many indepth chats with the very talented Trent Jamieson, Marianne De Pierres and Rowena Cory Daniells – who were at the Dymocks stand.

After signing up for the Brisbane Zombie walk and using my obvious charm, I struck up a conversation with a rep at the Penguin Publishers stand, who just happens to spend her days finding brilliant manuscripts within the slush pile at Penguin. She also helps promote emerging authors and gave me some excellent tips on how to get my work noticed. She also told me what Penguin Children’s are looking for right now and showered me with lots of encouragement. I left feeling very inspired and positive about the whole writing process, which was only enhanced by my next encounter.

Whilst purchasing books at the Dymocks stand, and using my obvious charm yet again, I struck up a conversation with a woman about Marianne De Pierre’s Burn Bright YA novel. Turns out this woman is a literary agent in Sydney and I walked away with her business card! Exciting? I think so!

Add all of this with the chance to sit in a Delorian (so okay, it’s not the real Back To The Future Delorian because I’ve seen that at Universal Studios) but still, it was pretty cool, and the chance to sit in on a Charisma Carpenter Q&A. Plus, I was surrounded by freaks and geeks galore, so I truly felt right at home, I can honestly say I absolutely loved my Supernova adventure and I can’t wait for next year. Unless I fly to the Sydney one and stalk Luke Perry, which may very well happen. I’m just saying …

pawhitehouse says:

It sounds like you had a blast! I’m hoping some of that sparkling enthusiasm will ooze out of your pores, into the computer screen and onto me… Did I just write that? Eewwww!
I’m looking forward to hearing more about it at our group meeting and taking my best friend – who is a geek like you- to it next year!



Thanks Pen. I wear the geek tag with pride! Looking forward to catching up too. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
