Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{November 27, 2010}   The sequel…

The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” Sylvia Plath (1932-1963), Poet & Novelist.

Any writer I know will tell you that self doubt is a writer’s nemesis. The constant criticism and pressure we place on ourselves as writers and on our work is unbelievable. But in contrast to this pressure, is the high of a ‘lightning bolt/lightbulb’ moment. I had one of those today. In mid-conversation with my friend about the rewrites for the first BB manuscript, I had a flash of inspiration for the sequel. 

Fast forward a few hours, I have the plotline for the sequel planned out. And even better, I LOVE it! It’s going to link in to the third novel brilliantly and I’m so excited about the developments for these characters, almost as if they’re real people. Don’t worry, I haven’t lost my mind, I know they’re not real – but they’re my characters and I only want good things for them. I’m sure most writers understand where I’m coming from on this. Exciting writing times ahead! 😀

Oh, and for those of you who are interested from the last blog – I’m in the midst of planning three overseas holidays in the next two years to cure my itchy travel feet. As I said last time, life’s too short and too unpredictable to waste time sitting and waiting for things to happen. Get out there and do it yourself. No regrets! 😀

Leave a Reply

et cetera
