Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{November 14, 2010}   Time to travel???

It’s that time of year again… And no, I don’t mean Christmas. Everyone else might get crazy about shopping and be focused on what presents to buy right now, but not me. Around this time of year I get itchy feet to travel. With six weeks holiday fast approaching, and a time out from my manic life definitely in order, I can’t help it. I want to get on a plane and go somewhere different, I don’t care where. Last year it was Tokyo, and a very welcome change from our miserable summer to their freezing winter. The year before it was USA. The year before that? Well, that was the best one of all! That was my three month, round the world extravaganza! The best holiday of my life and quite possibly, the reason for this itchy feet syndrome.

And okay, I concede it may have something to do with recently finishing reading Eat Pray Love, and going to watch it on the big screen. Now I know this movie has had mixed reviews but I loved it. Perhaps because I relate so well to it. After all, I did ‘run away’ and take a ‘time-out’ from my life for three months after a very similiar situation, and proceeded to eat my way around the world, while also stopping to find spiritual energy in the shape of many fabulous monuments/castles/churches/cities/etc. Nothing like standing on the deck of a cruise ship in the Greek Islands to make you reassess your life and priorities.

Maybe that’s why now – when I’m tired, stressed and bored with the day to day world, I yearn for the chance to get on that plane and go somewhere new. Somewhere different, somewhere else, anywhere! I want another time-out and sadly, the more I travel, the more places I want to go.

Unfortunately, the bank account does not agree with me at the moment and is screaming (well okay, only I can hear it) to stop, save money & not to get on the plane. Then again, I’ve never been that good with being told what to do (it’s my inner brat I tell you!) and I could write lots of novels on travel experiences. Or perhaps, in my spare time between full time work, my diploma study, proofing other people’s writing and writing my own maunscripts, I could freelance for travel magazines. Or even better, sell one of my manuscripts and reward myself with the money I make with a flight somewhere. Well, I can dream can’t I? Dreams and hope are all we have sometimes. After all, as Hans Christian Andersen once said, ‘Life is the best fairytale of all!’ My advice? Life’s too short, get out there and enjoy it while you can because you never know what the future holds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

et cetera
