Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{October 29, 2010}   So I thought my studying days were over…

This week I did something I once swore I’d never, ever do. I enrolled to do more study. Not earth shattering news I know and the declaration was made such a long time ago – after four years at Uni and two degrees – but still. I was absolutely adamant I would never go back and study ever again. Guess that just goes to show we should never say never because, as of today, I’ve started my Diploma of Professional Book Editing, Proofreading & Publishing.

And why on earth would I want to do that you may ask? Well, I’m not really sure. What I do know is that I want to learn more about editing manuscripts (especially my own) and lots of people ask me to proof their manuscripts too, so I’d honestly like to know what I’m talking about. And once upon a time I, quite stupidly, thought a decade plus experience as an English teacher may actually make me a good proofreader. Unfortunately, although it’s given me a great grounding in grammar and spelling, I’m still not brilliant at editing. But hopefully very soon (after lots of assignments and a bit more experience) that will turn around. 🙂

On a different topic, I received my judge’s feedback from the CYA writing competition yesterday and was pleasantly surprised. Like most writers, I’m often struck with self doubt in my writing abilities but I’m happy to report that out of 100%, I received 73% from one judge and 75% from the other. Which I don’t think is too bad for someone who’s only been writing creatively for two years. And I have some excellent feedback that I’m going to work into my manuscript over the next few weeks.  Wish me luck!

Have a great writing week everyone. x

Life has a way of surprising us, doesn’t it? And you’re absolutely right about never saying never. Oh, we can say it adamantly, and mean it, doesn’t mean that’s what’s going to happen though. Right? Enjoy your course.



You’re so right Maggie, and as you know this is only the beginning of the further study I have planned for myself. Of course, it’s made so much better knowing that you’re doing the course too & we can share in each other’s joy/misery – it’s a fine line between the both of them 🙂 x



Kev Webb says:

The writing fraternity will be in serious pergitory once you two become word nazis. Oh why did I say when….



Once again Kev, correcting your mistakes only means that we care. When we stop, then you can worry! 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
