Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{October 20, 2010}   So I’ve been busy…

Ok so my blog has been a bit quiet of late… Sorry, but I’ve been a little busy. Firstly, if you hadn’t heard, I was helping out with my school musical. It was manic, dramatic, fabulous and everything I expected it to be.  What’s even better is the ideas and behind the scenes actions (which will be given a fictional twist of course) that have given me great inspiration for my BB sequel. I’m currently rewriting parts of BB, including the first chapter which I hope I’ll like better, before sending it out for further editing and hopefully publication. Then I get to start developing this next one. 🙂

Secondly, I’ve been working on my picture book text and although it received great reviews from my children’s writing group on the weekend, I know it’s not perfect. That’s why I’ve asked the fabulous & extremely talented Jackie Hosking to have a look at it for me, which she’s agreed to do. Hopefully in the near future I will have some excellent feedback to help me iron out those small imperfections, so I can send it back to the publisher who’s interested in it.

Lastly, I met the very talented and lovely Graeme Base (Animalia, The Eleventh Hour etc..) on Monday night at the always fabulous Riverbend Books. Aside from meeting one of my very favourite children’s authors, I found his thoughts on the future of books and digital publishing both interesting and informative. It’s definitely an area that all writers should be focusing on. After all, whether we like it or not, technology is most definitely the future of ‘the book’.

As a final note, I’m looking forward to attending Sheryl Gwyther’s book launch of Charlie and the Red Hot Chilli Pepper at Blackcat Books, Paddington this Friday. I first encountered Charlie and the Red Hot Chilli Pepper (which is a chapter book for 8-9 year olds) at the 2010 CYA Conference, where it was receiving rave reviews. All young people should seek out a copy of this book, find a comfy reading spot and settle in with it for the afternoon or night. Highly recommend it as a great read for kids! For more information on Sheryl and her books, please visit her website – www.sherylgwyther.net/

Don’t forget to join my facebook group page: Debbie Kahl – YA and Children’s Writer @ http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=637987217#!/group.php?gid=130781426951112 

Well, I think that’s it. Have an awesome writing week everyone. ‘Til next time. xx

Leave a Reply

et cetera
