Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{August 15, 2010}   Fairytales do come true….?

Anyone who knows me well knows I have a bit of a thing for fairytales, and you might notice I make a lot of references to fairytales in my writing. Why do I do this you may ask? Well, I’m kind of obsessed with them. I don’t know why, I just always have been.

Maybe it’s because they’re so innocent & sweet, maybe it’s because you’re pretty much guaranteed of a happy ending. Or maybe it’s just because they’re well written & enjoyable? I like to think it’s because I was encouraged to read so many as a child. It may also have something to do with the fact that I’ve been so heavily influenced by Disney my entire life, and that anything less than a happy ending is completely unacceptable. And this is a bit of a problem when you try to live in the real world.  

Whatever the reason, it’s hard to come to grips with reality when the fairytale seems a much happier and stable option. I mean, who wouldn’t? The prince charming coming along to rescue the beautiful maiden and they live happily ever after sounds great right?…. If only it were true! 

Unfortunately, like a lot of grown up girls, I’ve sadly come to realise that fairytales are a myth. Which is okay because they’re fiction and fiction, as we all know, is made up from someone else’s imagination. Still, it doesn’t change the fact that a small part of me still somehow wishes it could be real and that everything will end up happily ever after.

Perhaps that’s why I’m such a fan of ‘chick-lit’ and I love writing YA and children’s fiction, because the innocence hasn’t been lost yet. And maybe, just maybe, I have a chance to live a beautiful fairytale through my words, and escape from the sometimes cold, harsh, shattered fairytale that we all know so well as reality. In fact, some days I feel just like Alice after she goes through the Looking Glass and everything is so ugly on the other side. Luckily, this is not a common feeling and my life is pretty wonderful for the most part… And even better, I still have faith in fairytales.

Perhaps it’s this belief in the beauty of fairytales that inspired me to run around Copenhagen a couple of years ago & chase down anything remotely related to the best fairytale writer of all time, Hans Christian Andersen. It’s a truly magical place, full of wonder and beauty – and it’s very proud of its fairytale history. But the best thing of my entire trip was seeing the Little Mermaid statue. Crazy I know to fly halfway round the world just to see a statue, but to me it was so much more than that. This statue represents everything I have grown to believe in the world. It’s a story of love, innocence, and happiness – and a little bit of feminism. After all, she knew what she wanted & she went after it, and nothing anyone said would sway her from her decision! It’s a pretty good message to send little girls I think – never let anything keep you from your dreams. I can only hope to maintain these messages in my writing. Because maybe, just maybe; when the circumstances are right, fairytales do come true?????

Have a great writing week everyone!

An inspiring blog, Debbie. Everyone should be a little idealistic at times. I know I am. Like you, I’d like to believe that fairytales can come true…if we believe hard enough!



Hi Debbie,
Like you, I Love fairy Tales too. They makes us dream , don’t they?
Keep dreaming, keep wishing. That’s what makes us aim higher. Keep reaching for those stars. Karen :))



I love finding out what the original folk version of the fairytale was, before Disney got to it. If you knew just how Cinderella goes in the original mediaeval German version, you would NEVER tell it to kids.



I have very much the same feelings as you when it comes to fairytales. 🙂

How fun to see the statue! The Hans Christian Anderson version of The Little Mermaid is such a bittersweet one! I remember crying when I read it as a little girl.



Hey Debbie!

I feel the same when it comes to fairytales. I think we all deserve a happy ending! I am very guilty of watching kids movies and inspirational movies just because I know there’s a happy ending!

Your writing style in itself makes this blog great reading and I can’t wait to read your Chick-Lit and young adult novels!

Love your work 🙂

Kel 🙂



[…] Fairytales do come true….? August 2010 5 comments […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
