Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{July 12, 2010}   The Power Of Poetry

Tomorrow I start a series of poetry workshops with QWC’s Poet in Residence Emily XYZ, and I’m a little apprehensive. I’ve never really studied poetry before, despite enjoying writing it. It is also, without a doubt, the area of ‘English’ I am the least confident in teaching – perhaps because I know so little about it. Luckily, I’ve been given the opportunity to learn more about this genre through these workshops. And hopefully, I will be able to tweak the niggling meter problems in my kid’s picture book series. Well that’s the plan anyway. I’ll keep you all posted on my progress. Hopefully there won’t be too much homework.. I have some serious tweaking to do! Have a good week everyone! 😀

Joanna Gaudry says:

What fun, Debbie. Enjoy yourself, you’ll be fine. Good luck and have a great week. Janna :))



Joanna Gaudry says:

‘Joanna’, not ‘Janna’ (above). Yes, I can spell my name. ;))



Hi Debbie, The poetry Workshop sounds very innovative and inspiring. You’ll love it!Enjoy!…Karen :))



Kev Webb says:

Poetry is very subjective Deb, whats right for one is not right for another. I find you just have to write from your heart. Don’t hold back, be brave and fearless. You’ll be surprised at what happens.



Robin Adolphs says:

Hi Deb, I know exactly how you feel. I went on You Tube and listened to some of the performances referred to in the workshop notes. Now I feel even more inadequate. Anyway, I’m up for the challenge. Glad you’ll be there though!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
