Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{June 29, 2010}   The problem with procrastination….

So, I’ve been giving this procrastination thing some thought… to be honest I consider myself to be the princess of procrastination. If there is something more ‘pressing’, you can guarantee I will put everything else off. There’s just one problem with this, you never get things finished. And people often ask me when I decided to be a writer. I didn’t just roll out of bed one day and decide to be a writer, I’ve always wanted to be a writer. Instead, I rolled out of bed one day and decided to actually get started on this writing thing. After virtually wasting an entire decade telling myself, I’ll do that one day – I finally realised that one day would never come & I had to make myself do something about it. So I sat down & wrote. A week later I had 10,000 words. Twelve months later I had 47,000 words and a completed manuscript. So I guess anything is possible when you set your mind to it. I’m now part way through my second manuscript and although I am still the princess of procrastination, I also know that I’m capable of great things when I set my mind to it. I know you will be too! You just have to start. 😀

Have a great week everyone & good luck with your projects. x

Joanna Gaudry says:

Lovely, Debbie. I am also guilty of procrastination. I’ve decided to start keeping lists. I’ll break my writing project tasks down and have a bulleted list to tick off as I complete small things, one day at a time. Best to break down things that seem overwhelming.
Joanna :))



Hi Debbie,
I’m so glad you’ve stopped procrastinating and now you’re fully immersed into your writing career. I loved reading your first manuscript. I’m looking forward to reading the next …Cheers, Karen :))



Procrastinating – is that the same as chasing your tail? Must be why I’m always dizzy!



Starting it is the easy bit… keeping the nose to the grindstone and getting past the middle all the way to the end is the hard part!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
