Debbie Kahl – YA & Children's Fiction Writer











{June 4, 2010}   I have an idea…..

Okay.. well I have an idea… And thank goodness!! I was starting to worry that all my creativity was being stifled by the pressures of full time work. Luckily for me, ideas are currently coming in a steady flow right now. I just wish I had more time to sit down and capture them.. which I guess I’ll do when the holidays finally arrive! .. (cue dream sequence here….)

But anyway, back to the brainwave. Driving to work this morning, I had the most amazing revelation that a YA story idea I’ve been bashing about for years, could potentially work in as a sequel to Bitter Besties… Finally, this semi-adapted idea (which I’ve already written 9,000 words for) can slot in nicely as a follow up to my favourite teen queens.. And I’m actually quite looking forward to connecting it all together. Now if I can just find a publisher for the first one, I can sell them on my sequel idea. Anyone? Anyone?? Anyone???? πŸ˜€

Have a great week everybody.. and good luck with all your projects! ‘Til next time. x

Sounds like a great plan, Debbie. A sequel is always good. And teens seem to love that. Good luck!



Thanks Maggie.. I really think this will be a good follow up to the characters.. Still developing ideas but I’m pretty sure I’ve got a good direction to go in. πŸ™‚



Hi Debbie,
Sounds Fantastic! Glad your creativity and brain storms are all coming together. Good luck with your sequel. Cheers. Karen :))



Actually.. I am quite proud of myself.. I think it is an absolutely brilliant idea that will work in beautifully with the previous story.. Will tell you about it at Crime Writers… (if not before.) πŸ˜€



Kelly Hart says:

Hi Debbie,
Sounds like your idea is going to be fantastic and if you can continue on with your Bitter Besties characters why give up a good thing? πŸ™‚



Thanks Kel.. It’s quite uncanny that we were discussing this last Saturday and I said I wanted to do but had no idea where to go with it.. and then a week later, I realise that the idea I’ve been bashing about for 4 or so years, will be the perfect sequel to BB.. It’s a funny, funny world sometimes.. Guess it just goes to show that any idea is a great idea, given time & the right circumstances.. I never, ever delete ideas or work I’ve done.. just in case stuff like this happens! … Oh.. and I’m also in JBK rewrite stage.. and quite happy with where it’s going too! It’s a good day! πŸ˜€



Leave a Reply

et cetera
